Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Oh, she's screwing....

Greetings lovers.

Ladies, raise your hand if you fear the little pink pill.
Or in my case, twenty four little pink pills. One a day. Every day. Til Death do us part? Or menopause....

Birth control. I have a physical condition that requires birth control to regulate it.

Did I ever tell you all that I hate the idea of birth control? Hormones pumping into my body that I didn't make. Sounds sketchy. But they don't have anything else so, here I am... popping pink pills. And I've learned, that, unlike vitamins, the little aluminum package is not for public viewing. You tell people ur taking vitamins, they nod accordingly and keep it moving. Bring that aluminum package out and its some sort of knowing stereotype... "oh she's screwing..."

Couldn't be further from the truth.
One does not need birth control to screw ;-)
And one does not always jump in bed upon taking birth control.


What is it about this little package that suddenly brands a woman as sexually active? Doctors have been using birth control to regulate hormones for quite some time now. As a matter of fact, when I was a teen, with a very irregular cycle, the product rolled off of physician's tongues.

The idea gave my mother tremors I'm sure.

And maybe a woman IS sexually active and wants to use birth control. Why does she get that LOOK? I was sitting in a restaurant and took out my pack, discreetly, I thought. This old lady across from me happened to see it and started to frown. To FROWN.
I know what she was thinking... "oh, she's screwing..."

Its a chant almost... filling the air invisibly from disapproving onlookers. And its rediculous. Its 2011. And while my birth control is for my stupid condition, I'm not sure why its such a big deal if a woman IS 'screwing.' Isn't that her perogative? Does it mean she's a whore? What if she's in a long lasting, monogamous relationship and just doesn't want children?

Its too much stigma, too much assuming....

But everyone doesn't read my blog, and so they don't know that they shouldn't assume.

But you know....

And this goes for menfolk too. Don't assume anything if your girl is taking BC. If she wants things to change, she'll let you know. I know a girl whose boyfriend of TWO YEARS suddenly stopped buying condoms because she started taking birth control. She laughed and smartly told him EXACTLY where he could "stick it." And she sent him to the store for condoms.

Ladies... its your body. And you are free to do with it what you please... but just be wary... its a HATER world out there. Maybe you should just head to the bathroom to pop ur pink pills... just don't let ANYBODY (boyfriends included) box you into their perceptions when it comes to your body.
As for me?
Ha... I'm going to keep doing me. Of course.

Taa-taa Lovers.

No comments: